Municipality of San Jose

San Jose, officially the Municipality of San Jose (Surigaonon: Lungsod nan San Jose; Cebuano: Lungsod sa San Jose; Tagalog: Bayan ng San Jose), is a 4th class municipality and capital of the province of Dinagat Islands, Philippines. According to the 2015 census, it has a population of 27,487 people. 


The Municipality of San Jose was named in honor of Jose Ecleo who was its pioneer and the father of the late renowned mayor of the Municipality of Dinagat.


It was once a part of the municipality of Dinagat. Even then, San Jose has been significantly progressive compared with the Poblacion until its creation as a municipality on November 15, 1989 by virtue of Republic Act No. 6769 authored by Glenda B. Ecleo, during the time of President Corazon C. Aquino. The creation was amended on December 20, 2009, an act to amend Section 1 of the above-mentioned Republic Act through Republic Act 9859 covering an area of 3,422 hectares. It was within its jurisdiction twelve (12) barangays namely; San Jose, Matingbe, Aurelio, Jacquez, San Juan, Mahayahay, Don Ruben, Justiniana Edera, Santa Cruz, Cuarinta, Wilson and Luna.


San Jose has many roads, a commercial establishment, a concrete port, a college and other urban uses not common to rural communities.

The Municipality of San Jose was named in honor of Jose Ecleo who was its pioneer and the father of the late renowned mayor of the Municipality of Dinagat, Hon. Ruben B. Ecleo, Sr.

In 1965, Hon. Ruben B. Ecleo, Sr., organized the Philippine Benevolent Missionaries Association, Incorporated (PBMA) at Sitio Puyange (now Barangay Poblacion, San Jose) . PBMA is a non-sectarian brotherhood organization spreads like forest fire in the entire archipelago. Soon members of the association from different places came to settle in San Jose.


The strong spirit of brotherhood and the desire of the members to be in constant association with its founder brought the phenomenon and remarkable increase in the population of San Jose. Other barangays were established to comprise what is now Metro San Jose.

San Jose is known for the practice of ‘PAHINA” or voluntary labor. During Saturdays and Sundays, it is common sight to see people, young and old alike, male and female, working harmoniously for community development. This achievement was affirmed when then Barangay San Jose received the National Award as the “Most Outstanding Barangay in the Philippines” last 1980.

San Jose came out as an advance and progressive place. Even if he is not as old as other municipalities, but he has coped up and even overtaken most of the municipalities of the Province of Surigao del Norte. He has amenities not common to rural communities. The true spirit of brotherhood, love, unity, and cooperation has reign within its people. The Municipality has shown a true people-centered, sustainable and program oriented political ideology in the province amidst the criticism.

San Jose is strategically the center of trade and commerce in the Island of Dinagat. It is the place where opportunities for investment are possible.


According to the Bureau of Local Government Finance, the annual regular revenue of San Jose for the fiscal year of 2016 was ₱75,479,827.06.



Population by age group

According to the 2015 Census, the age group with the highest population in San Jose is 10 to 14, with 3,019 individuals. Conversely, the age group with the lowest population is 80 and over, with 392 individuals.

Historical population

The population of San Jose fell from 30,405 in 1990 to 27,487 in 2015, a decrease of 2,918 people. The latest census figures in 2015 denote a negative growth rate of 2.28%, or a decrease of 3,548 people, from the previous population of 31,035 in 2010.


The municipal center of San Jose is situated at approximately 10° 1' North, 125° 34' East, in the island of Dinagat. Elevation at these coordinates is estimated at 37.7 meters or 123.7 feet above mean sea level.


 • Type

 • Mayor

 • Vice Mayor

 • Congressman

 • Governor

 • Vice Governor

 • Electorate


 • Total

Zip/Postal Code

: Sangguniang Bayan

: Yngwie Hero B. Ecleo

: Felix Q. Portullano

: Alan 1 B. Ecleo

: Arlene "Kaka" Bag ao

: Nilo P. Demerey Jr.

: 16,296 voters (2019)

: 27.80 km2 (10.73 sq mi)

: 8427