Seven (7) Municipalities of Dinagat Islands

>   Mystical wonders   >   Seven (7) Municipalities of Dinagat Islands

Dinagat Islands is a province in the Philippines situated in the Caraga region occupying the northeastern section of Mindanao. Its capital is the Municipality of San Jose.


The province has a land area of 1,036.34 square kilometers or 400.13 square miles. Its population as determined by the 2015 Census was 127,152. This represented 4.90% of the total population of the Caraga region, 0.53% of the overall population of the Mindanao island group, or 0.13% of the entire population of the Philippines. Based on these figures, the population density is computed at 123 inhabitants per square kilometer or 318 inhabitants per square mile.

Dinagat Islands Province is composed of seven municipalities, including the provincial capital, San Jose. Its six other municipalities are Dinagat, Loreto, Cagdianao, Libjo (Albor), Basilisa (Rizal) and Tubajon. The Municipality of Dinagat, formally established in 1855, is the oldest community in the province.

7 municipalities.png

Dinagat Islands Map


Land Area:






: San Jose

: 1,036.34 sq. km.

: 126,803 (2010)

: none

: 7

: 100

: Cebuano, Suriganon, Waray, Tagalog, English