Municipality of Libjo

>   Mystical wonders   >   Seven (7) Municipalities of Dinagat Islands   > Municipality of Libjo


Municipality of Libjo

Libjo, officially the Municipality of Libjo (Surigaonon: Lungsod nan Libjo; Cebuano: Lungsod sa Libjo; Tagalog: Bayan ng Libjo; Waray: Bungto han Libjo), is a 5th class municipality in the province of Dinagat Islands, Philippines. According to the 2015 census, it has a population of 17,760 people. 


​It is formerly known as Albor.

Before the arrival of the Spaniards, Libjo was one of the old settlements in the islands of Dinagat. It was a township during the Spanish regime governed by succession of Kapitanes appointed by the Spanish authorities.  The last of them was Kapitan Tomas Pecho, who did not submit full loyalty to the foreign powers, but instead sided the native's cause by leading a local revolt against the Spaniards and later against the Americans.


Libjo is believed to have been settled earlier than Loreto by immigrants from south-eastern Visayas using sailboats and paddles in their search for abundance, thus can be observed most of them today with mixture of dialects of Bohol and Southern Leyte.


After several years, the settlements expanded to the surrounding areas. Its expansion extended to the area of the municipality of Loreto in the north and the municipality of Dinagat in the south. The people became politicized. They clamored for self-rule and be separated from the municipalities of Dinagat and Loreto manifested by petitions.   One of the reasons broached was the difficulty in foregoing transactions due to the inaccessibility of the two municipalities, which are settled at the northernmost and southernmost portion of the island.  It was on December 2, 1959 that their clamor was given appropriate action when the Municipal Councils of Dinagat and Loreto held a Joint Session at the barrio of Libjo.  In its deliberations, Resolution No. 5 was passed which proposes for the creation of the Municipality of Albor.   Furthermore, it was agreed that each municipality cedes part of their territories to be included in the new proposed municipality.   The northern portion therefore was formerly from Loreto while the southern part from Dinagat.


Its conception was followed by earnest follow up of few men who were leaders of this town, which utilized the power of politics to gain recognition.  It was on February 29, 1960 when President Carlos P. Garcia finally signed Executive Order No. 381 creating the municipality of Albor into law.  The momentous day however, was on April 23 of the same year that the new municipality came into official existence when the new set of Municipal Officials were appointed and qualified. These pioneering men were, Lamberto A. Llamera, Sr. as the first Mayor, Francisco Gulle its Vice Mayor with councilors, Rufino Ramilla, Apolinario Bukid, Gregorio Malbacias, Montano Macales with Eufrocina I. Pertacorta as its Secretary.


The name Albor is a combination of the surnames of the mayors of Dinagat and Loreto who shared most of the credit of the town’s history.  The first two letters ‘AL’ came from the surname Alfaro, the Mayor of Loreto, while ‘BOR’ from the surname Borja the Mayor of Dinagat.   In the later years, the council decided to rename the municipality from Albor to Libjo, its original name.  This move of the change was due to the confusion caused by the absence of the name in the maps.   However to retain due honors to the two town mayors who were instrumental in the creation of the municipality they split the poblacion Barangay into two naming the other one   as Barangay Albor. 


By the later time, the municipal council renamed the town from Albor to Libjo. The reason was due to the absence of the former name in the official map that causes confusion to the travelers. This action of the municipal council was approved by congress on June 17, 1967 by virtue of R.A. 4981. However, to retain the honor of the two town mayors, poblacion was split into two naming the other as Albor.


Libjo, comes the word   ‘liboo’ a kind of mussel or clam found in abundance from its swamps.   This   specie   is gathered   in   great volume in those days.  It is a favorite food of lactating mothers of the locality due to its nutritive value.

The town became a part of the province of Dinagat Islands in December 2006, when the province was created from Surigao del Norte by Republic Act No. 9355. However, in February 2010, the Supreme Court ruled that the law was unconstitutional, as the necessary requirements for provincial land area and population were not met. The town reverted to Surigao del Norte. On October 24, 2012, however, the Supreme Court reversed its ruling from the previous year, and upheld the constitutionality of RA 9355 and the creation of Dinagat Islands as a province.


Libjo is politically subdivided into 16 barangays. 


Magsaysay, Dinagat Islands.

  • Albor (Poblacion)

  • Arellano (Madrid)

  • Bayanihan

  • Doña Helen

  • Garcia

  • General Aguinaldo (Bolod-bolod)

  • Kanihaan

  • Llamera

  • Magsaysay

  • Osmeña

  • Plaridel

  • Quezon

  • Rosita

  • San Antonio (Poblacion)

  • San Jose

  • Santo Niño


According to the Bureau of Local Government Finance, the annual regular revenue of Libjo for the fiscal year of 2016 was ₱84,225,121.68.



Population by age group

According to the 2015 Census, the age group with the highest population in Libjo is 5 to 9, with 2,197 individuals. Conversely, the age group with the lowest population is 80 and over, with 170 individuals.

Historical population

The population of Libjo grew from 6,959 in 1970 to 17,760 in 2015, an increase of 10,801 people. The latest census figures in 2015 denote a positive growth rate of 0.21%, or an increase of 193 people, from the previous population of 17,567 in 2010.


The municipal center of Libjo is situated at approximately 10° 12' North, 125° 32' East, in the island of Dinagat. Elevation at these coordinates is estimated at 8.0 meters or 26.2 feet above mean sea level.


 • Type

 • Mayor

 • Vice Mayor

 • Congressman

 • Governor

 • Vice Governor

 • Electorate


 • Total

Zip/Postal Code

: Sangguniang Bayan

: Lamberto T. Llamera Jr.

: Zoltan Arnel S. Edera

: Alan 1 B. Ecleo

: Arlene "Kaka" Bag ao

: Nilo P. Demerey Jr.

: 12,130 voters (2019)

: 27.80 km2 (10.73 sq mi)

: 8414